The economics pathway
Options decoder
What to choose at GCSE (Year 9) and A-level (Year 11) to keep economics, PPE and Economics and Management open. Every requirement links to the university’s own course page.
The short version
- Year 9, GCSE options. Aim high in GCSE Maths: several courses below set a GCSE Maths grade, and nearly all need A-level Maths later. None of the courses below asks for a particular GCSE option, so choose the others for interest.
- Year 11, A-level choices. Take A-level Maths: nearly every competitive economics course asks for it, often at A*. Further Maths helps for the most mathematical courses; if your school does not offer it, see the AMSP note below. A-level Economics is welcome but rarely required.
- Year 12 and 13, admissions tests. Cambridge, LSE, UCL and Imperial use the TMUA; Oxford uses the TARA for E&M and PPE. Check each course below.
Requirements change from year to year. Always confirm on the course page before choosing.
Course requirements
| Course | Typical offer | Maths | Further Maths | GCSE | Test | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cambridge BA Economics | A*A*A | A-level (or IB HL) Mathematics required. Some colleges set offers above A*A*A or specify an A* in a particular subject; check college websites | required by six colleges (Christ's, Churchill, Corpus Christi, Magdalene, St John's, Sidney Sussex); otherwise not a stated requirement | No GCSE minimum stated | TMUA (required) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Oxford Economics and Management | A*AA | A-level Mathematics required at grade A or above (A* or A) | Not required | No GCSEs required (used as evidence of prior attainment if held) | TARA (required) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Oxford Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) | AAA | Not formally required; Maths at A-level (or IB SL) is 'a particular advantage' for the Economics component | Not required | No GCSEs required | TARA (required) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| LSE BSc Economics | A*AA (contextual A*AB) | A* in A-level Mathematics required (or A* Further Maths + A Maths) | desirable (not offered at school is not a disadvantage if stated on application) | Grade 6 (B) minimum in GCSE English Language and Maths (LSE-wide); competitive applicants typically have multiple 8-9s | TMUA (required) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| LSE BSc Econometrics and Mathematical Economics | A*AA (contextual A*AB) | A* in A-level Mathematics required (or A* Further Maths + A Maths) | Desirable | Grade 6 (B) minimum in GCSE English Language and Maths (LSE-wide) | TMUA (required) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| LSE BSc Philosophy, Politics and Economics | A*AA (contextual AAA with A in Maths) | A* in A-level Mathematics required (Maths A-level essential; A* FM + A Maths acceptable) | Not required | Grade 6 (B) minimum in GCSE English Language and Maths (LSE-wide) | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| UCL BSc (Econ) Economics | A*AA (contextual A*AB) | A* in A-level Mathematics required; Economics at A if taken | Not stated | English Language and Maths grade 4 (C) | TMUA (required) | Course page Last year’s timing |
| Warwick BSc Economics (L100) | A*AA incl. A in Maths (contextual AAB incl. A in Maths; AAA possible for highest TMUA scorers) | A-level Mathematics required at grade A | not required (no special status) | GCSE English Language grade 6/B | TMUA (optional) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Warwick BA/BSc Philosophy, Politics and Economics | A*AA (contextual AAB) | A-level Maths not required; GCSE Maths grade 7/A required | Not required | GCSE Maths 7/A; GCSE English Language 6/B | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Imperial BSc Economics, Finance and Data Science | Minimum A*AA; typical A*AA-A*A*A | A* in A-level Mathematics required | useful, not required | No specific GCSE requirements (grades considered) | TMUA (required) | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Durham BSc (Hons) Economics (L130) | A*AA incl. Maths (contextual ABB incl. A in A-level Maths) | A-level Mathematics required | Not required | Not stated on course page | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Bristol BSc Economics (L100) | A*AA (contextual AAB) | A-level Mathematics required (grade not specified beyond overall offer) | Not required | No specific GCSE subjects required | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Edinburgh MA (Hons) Economics | A*A*A*-A*AA (range most applicants needed in recent years); widening access minimum ABB | A-level Mathematics grade B (or AS Maths A) required | Not required | GCSE English 4/C required | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| Nottingham BSc Economics (L100) | A*AA / A*A*B (AAA / A*AB including Maths); one grade lower with grade A EPQ or Core Maths | A-level Maths not strictly required but lowers offer; GCSE Maths 7 required unless taking A-level Maths | Not required | GCSE Maths 7/A (unless A-level Maths); English 4/C | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| KCL BSc Economics (L100) | A*AA (contextual AAB incl. A in Maths) | A-level Mathematics grade A required | Not required | Not stated on entry requirements page | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
| St Andrews MA (Hons) Economics | AAA standard; ABB minimum | No A-level Maths requirement; advanced school maths an advantage | Not required | GCSE 5 in English Language or Literature, plus GCSE 5 in one of Biology, Chemistry, Computing Science, Geography, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology | None | Course page Confirmed 28 Oct 2026 |
AMSP: Further Maths when your school doesn't offer it
The Advanced Mathematics Support Programme (AMSP) supports students in state-funded schools and colleges who would benefit from AS/A level Further Mathematics where their school or college cannot offer it, through its Further Mathematics Online Programme: learning resources plus 30 weekly 70-minute evening online tutorials in small groups (usually six to eight students). Routes cover AQA and Edexcel options; AS runs over one year and A level over two, with no accelerated one-year A level, and courses assume A level Mathematics is studied alongside. The programme fee is £400 per student; schools contact the Further Mathematics Online Programme Coordinator. About 150 students a year study A level Further Mathematics this way.
Source Confirmed 28 Oct 2026
EPQ: what it is and what top universities say
The Extended Project Qualification is a Level 3 qualification worth 120 guided learning hours: usually a research report of about 5,000 words (or an artefact or performance with a shorter write-up). Schools usually start it in Year 12 and finish it by spring of Year 13. Oxford says it will not be a condition of any offer but can be mentioned in the personal statement. Cambridge encourages it for independent research but it is not normally part of offers. Nottingham can lower its economics offer by one grade for an A in the EPQ; King's College London does not consider it.
Source Confirmed 28 Oct 2026
Year 9 options: keeping economics and PPE open
The Russell Group's Informed Choices site (informedchoices.ac.uk) is live; its advice is that if you don't know what degree you want, choose A levels that keep as many options open as possible, and check individual university requirements. No Year 9-specific economics guidance was found. The practical rule from the course data above: almost every top economics course needs A-level Maths (most need an A*), so strong GCSE Maths matters (ideally 8-9; Warwick PPE and Nottingham ask for 7, LSE 6 minimum). Further Maths is desirable at LSE, useful at Imperial, and required by six Cambridge colleges. None of the courses checked requires Economics A-level. LSE states Core Maths cannot replace A-level Maths where A-level Maths is required.
Source Last year’s timing